Take Flight

bird_overocean_bluesky

Letting go of stuff leads to a full life.

(Listen to my song “Take the Road Less Traveled” by clicking HERE)

+++

Matthew 16:24-26

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow me. For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. What profit would there be for one to gain the whole world and forfeit his life?

+++

Many people don’t understand the life-transforming message of Jesus.

Unless you “deny yourself” – meaning let go of the false self that your ego has constructed – and “take up your cross” – meaning accept the hardships and struggles that come with following – you will not find the life that was meant for you.

You must shed the masks of your false self so that your true self can be unveiled.

That true self is not something you achieve or accomplish.

It’s your soul-self…your spiritual essence that was loved-into-existence by a Love that is unconditional and eternal.

You could actually gain much power, prestige and many possessions in following your ego’s desires…and never know your true self.

How sad that would be!

The more you uncover your true self…the more you will be living in the flow of God’s Presence.

This requires a regular practice of being present and listening.

It won’t be easy picking up your cross and following your heart, but paradoxically you will find inner satisfactionpeace and freedom.

+++

Listen to the song of the day “Take the Road Less Traveled” by clicking HERE.

Sample and/or purchase my songs on iTunes by clicking HERE.

CD’s available for purchase at BillTonnisMusic.com by clicking HERE.

Remember…God loves you!

About billtonnis

Child of God, Pastoral Minister, Chaplain, Music Minister, Jail Minister, singer-songwriter, former radio news anchor, imperfect follower of Jesus inspired by God's unconditional love, proud uncle... what else is there?
This entry was posted in Today's Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Take Flight

  1. I’ve been reading your blog for awhile now. For the past few months I’ve been struggling to write. Every time I read an entry where you would talk about using your talents or gifts for God, I would feel some guilt that I hadn’t been writing. After yesterday’s entry “Be You”, I felt like I wanted to try writing again soon. I prayed to God this morning and the Lord helped me write something that has been on my mind off and on for awhile. I was hoping you could check it out. It’s called, “Scare Tactics: Forcing people to Christianity and it’s dangers”.

Leave a Reply

