Soul Longing

beach_mist_dusk

Let go and live.

(Listen to my song “Breathe On Me” by clicking HERE)

+++

Psalm 84:3

My heart and flesh cry out for the living God.

+++

Is there a yearning inside of you?

Is there an inner emptiness?

What is your heart and flesh crying out to have?

What will satisfy this longing?

If you relate to having this inner yearning…you are not alone. St. Paul said this: “We know that all creation is groaning in labor pains even until now” (Romans 8:22).

That’s right…all of creation.

It seems God has installed this longing in everything.

Many mistakenly believe that they can satisfy the yearning with something material or physical. This is what your ego will tell you.

But as St. Augustine expressed to God, “Our heart is restless until it rests in you.”

The longing is a spiritual one.

It’s on the soul level.

Only the Unconditional Lover that created you can satisfy it.

When you let go of all the things that don’t matter, and let go of your fixation to control everything, you will fall into the arms of your loving Creator.

At the same time…you will discover your true self.

As Thomas Merton wrote in New Seeds of Contemplation, “Therefore there is only one problem on which all my existence, my peace and my happiness depend: to discover myself in discovering God. If I find Him, I will find myself, and if I find my true self I will find him.”

What are the things you need to let go of…to truly live?

+++

Listen to the song of the day “Breathe On Me” by clicking HERE.

Sample and/or purchase my songs on iTunes by clicking HERE.

CD’s available for purchase at BillTonnisMusic.com by clicking HERE.

Remember…God loves you!

About billtonnis

Child of God, Pastoral Minister, Chaplain, Music Minister, Jail Minister, singer-songwriter, former radio news anchor, imperfect follower of Jesus inspired by God's unconditional love, proud uncle... what else is there?
This entry was posted in Today's Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

