Salvation

mask_field_roses

When we drop our masks…our true selves are revealed.

(Listen to my song “Take the  Road Less Traveled” by clicking HERE)

+++

Mark 8:35

“For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake and that of the gospel will save it.”

+++

Jesus often taught through paradox…defined as “a seemingly contradictory statement that may nonetheless be true.”

When you save your life…you actually lose it. But when you lose your life for the sake of spreading Jesus’ message…you actually save your life.

How so?

Although I wouldn’t have consciously admitted it, there was a time when I was a radio news anchor that I craved a certain amount of fame and attention. But eventually…I became miserable.

“My” life was largely formed by my ego. I had built up what Thomas Merton would have called my false self.

When I finally started following a deep, spiritual yearning in my heart…I started to feel a sense of both excitement…and dread! I had to let go of 20 years of what I had worked hard to become.

It felt like dying…but it was actually a new birth.

It was through my ego-crushing, faltering steps away from my former life that I found more life than I ever thought was possible in ministry.

Jesus knows what he’s talking about!

What is the deep, spiritual yearning inside of you asking you to walk away from…so you can be led to your true self?

+++

Listen to the song of the day “Take the  Road Less Traveled” by clicking HERE.

Sample and/or purchase my songs on iTunes by clicking HERE.

CD’s available for purchase at BillTonnisMusic.com by clicking HERE.

Remember…God loves you!

About billtonnis

Child of God, Pastoral Minister, Chaplain, Music Minister, Jail Minister, singer-songwriter, former radio news anchor, imperfect follower of Jesus inspired by God's unconditional love, proud uncle... what else is there?
This entry was posted in Today's Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

