Way of Christ

path_landscape

Choose the path of both compassion and justice.

(Listen to my song “I Want to Follow You” by clicking HERE.)

+++

Mark 8:27-28

Along the way Jesus asked his disciples, “Who do people say that I am?” They said in reply, “John the Baptist, others Elijah, still others one of the prophets.” And he asked them, “But who do you say that I am?”

+++

That’s a good question. Who do you say Jesus is?

There was a time when I mentally knew who Jesus was. I had all the information about him. But what effect did that information have on my life?

I held a lot of beliefs and would generally critique others as to whether they had the “right” set of beliefs or not (by “right” I mean my beliefs of course).

This kind of thinking often results in forming a harsh, judgmental attitude that decides who’s in and who’s out.

But when I read the gospels…I did not find a harsh, judgmental Jesus. Instead…I found a Jesus who reached out to the rejects, the poor and the sick. He didn’t divide based on beliefs.

Who were the harsh, judgmental ones? The Pharisees (religious leaders).

I was like the Pharisees!

It dawned on me that if Jesus was “the way, and the truth and the life” (John 14:6) as he claimed…then that knowledge should have a positive effect on my life. As I intensified my pursuit of knowing Jesus more deeply…my life started to change for the better.

My heart softened.

I realized that information about Jesus was a far cry from transformation through him.

My transformation came in the process of being unconditionally loved while humbly following him in my imperfection.

So…who do you say he is?

+++

Listen to the song of the day “I Want to Follow You” by clicking HERE.

Sample and/or purchase my songs on iTunes by clicking HERE.

CD’s available for purchase at BillTonnisMusic.com by clicking HERE.

Remember…God loves you!

About billtonnis

Child of God, Pastoral Minister, Chaplain, Music Minister, Jail Minister, singer-songwriter, former radio news anchor, imperfect follower of Jesus inspired by God's unconditional love, proud uncle... what else is there?
This entry was posted in Today's Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

