Say Yes to Life

sky_road

The way of Love is always the best way.

(Listen to my song “Take the Road Less Traveled” by clicking HERE)

+++

Luke 1:38

Mary said, “Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord. May it be done to me according to your word.”

+++

The mother of Jesus gives us the perfect example of how to live our lives with her statement to the angel Gabriel.

When God’s message came to her that she would conceive the Messiah…she simply said yes.

What if each of us conducted our lives like Mary?

What if each of us said to our Creator: “I am your servant. I put aside my plans and pledge to the best of my ability to carry out Your purposes for my life.”

This is not easy because our egos will constantly say it’s all about “my” way.

And our culture will tell our egos that they are right. Go for all the gold! Grab all you can! Seek wealth, power and prestige. Go for more, more and more!

But not Mary.

She emptied herself of her ego’s wishes and pledged to live according to God’s wishes instead.

Easier said than done…you might say!

Recite this prayer of the famous monk Thomas Merton:

“My God, I have no idea where I am going. I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end. Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so. But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you. And I hope that I have that desire in all that I am doing. I hope that I will never do anything apart from that desire. And I know that if I do this you will lead me by the right road, though I may know nothing about it.”

It’s time to take the road that is calling you.

+++

Listen to the song of the day “Take the Road Less Traveled” by clicking HERE.

Sample and/or purchase my songs on iTunes by clicking HERE.

CD’s available for purchase at BillTonnisMusic.com by clicking HERE.

Remember…God loves you!

About billtonnis

Child of God, Pastoral Minister, Chaplain, Music Minister, Jail Minister, singer-songwriter, former radio news anchor, imperfect follower of Jesus inspired by God's unconditional love, proud uncle... what else is there?
This entry was posted in Today's Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

