God Centered

clouds_sun

Let Love lead you.

+++

Psalm 119:36-37

Direct my heart toward your decrees and away from unjust gain. Avert my eyes from what is worthless; by your way give me life.

+++

Who is at the center of my existence?

Is it God…or is it me?

The truth is that God is at the center of our existence…but we have a choice to live from that truth or not.

If my ego remains in charge…I am living out of the delusion that everything revolves around me and my desires.

When God is at the center of my life…then my main motivation is “love” since God is love (1 John 4:8).

My ego must surrender control.

Our egos seldom willingly “let go and let God.” It usually happens through great love or great suffering. The other way is to practice letting go. Regular contemplative prayer or meditation is needed.

Another help is to follow Jesus who said he was “the way, the truth and the life.” Jesus demonstrates the path of “letting go” in his ministry and death. This path leads to resurrection and new life.

Jesus said that the greatest two commandments are to love God with your whole heart, mind and soul and to love your neighbor as yourself (Matthew 22:37-39).

If love was at the center of my motivation…then I would turn away from unjust gain…and avert my eyes from what is worthless.

I truly would have life to the full.

+++

Listen to the song of the day “You’ll Lead Me” by clicking HERE.

Sample and/or purchase my songs by clicking HERE.

CD’s available for purchase at BillTonnisMusic.com by clicking HERE.

Remember…God loves you!

About billtonnis

Child of God, Pastoral Minister, Chaplain, Music Minister, Jail Minister, singer-songwriter, former radio news anchor, imperfect follower of Jesus inspired by God's unconditional love, proud uncle... what else is there?
This entry was posted in Today's Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

