The Great Compassion

christ_redeemer_statue

Romans 7:24

Miserable one that I am! Who will deliver me from this mortal body?

How often do we have the best of intentions but seem to get sidetracked? We feel the inner urge to call a friend or send an uplifting message, but instead we find ourselves watching a meaningless TV show or mindlessly surfing the internet. We give in to the temptations of our shadow side. Sometimes it seems our flesh is competing with our souls. Take comfort in knowing that the great St. Paul also struggled with fleshly temptations and failed over and over. Jesus also knew the pain of temptation. In his humanity he experienced a wide array of enticements during his forty days in the desert. Now the resurrected Christ is willing to walk with us and pick us up when we fall, not kick us when we are down. On the occasion of a particularly painful personal failure, I began to berate myself over it. But then I heard a gentle voice in my heart telling me that Christ does not reject me in my failures…but instead embraces me there. Such unconditional love is transforming. It was exactly at that time that I was inspired to write a song titled “Come to Jesus”…which ended up on my second album. Recently a man told me how he often uses my song in jail ministry…and I have performed it in my jail ministry visits as well! (Click HERE to listen to the song.) God transforms all our negatives into positives…if we cooperate. Allow this Great Compassion to do the same for you.

Listen to the song of the day “Come to Jesus” by clicking HERE.

All my songs available for free sampling and/or purchase by clicking HERE.

CD’s available for purchase at BillTonnisMusic.com by clicking HERE.

Remember…God loves you!

About billtonnis

Child of God, Pastoral Minister, Chaplain, Music Minister, Jail Minister, singer-songwriter, former radio news anchor, imperfect follower of Jesus inspired by God's unconditional love, proud uncle... what else is there?
This entry was posted in Today's Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

