Be Free

woman_free

Mark 10:29-30

Jesus said, “Amen, I say to you, there is no one who has given up house or brothers or sisters or mother or father or children or lands for my sake and for the sake of the gospel who will not receive a hundred times more now in this present age: houses and brothers and sisters and mothers and children and lands, with persecutions, and eternal life in the age to come.”

Spreading the message of God’s unconditional love, mercy, forgiveness and compassion…being that message to the world…is what we are all called to do. Jesus said that should be His followers’ top priority…even ahead of family. The paradox is that when we let go of all things…as in when we stop being “attached” to them and clinging to them…we receive back a hundred times more…not in some future reward…but in the here and now! He says the pay-off comes in both the present and in the future because “now” is the only time that is real. Letting go of the sense of security we get with all our attachments leads us out of our comfort zones…and into the realization of our true selves. Take note that Jesus also says you will be persecuted because you will be promoting a way of life opposed to the world’s consumer and materialistic philosophy that advocates being attached to more and more stuff. Ask yourself, “What do I need to let go of so that I can be free to be a more loving, merciful, forgiving and compassionate person?”

Listen to the song of the day “Take the Road Less Traveled” by clicking HERE

All my songs available for download and purchase by clicking HERE

CD’s available for purchase by clicking HERE

Remember…God loves you!

About billtonnis

Child of God, Pastoral Minister, Chaplain, Music Minister, Jail Minister, singer-songwriter, former radio news anchor, imperfect follower of Jesus inspired by God's unconditional love, proud uncle... what else is there?
This entry was posted in Today's Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Be Free

  1. Crinia says:

    GIving up family is indeed a hard ask. I know when the children were young my love for them was the one thing that kept me going. The children are now all grown up and leading their own lives.
    I ask myself the question you posed “What do I need to let go of so that I can be free to be a more loving, merciful, forgiving and compassionate person?” and I got a long list of answers but the top of the list was ego, material wealth, processed food and TV. I don’t mind giving them up at all but it does make for a lonelier life and people around me think I’m “weird”.
    PS. When I click your song of the song of the day link I get a ‘song not available message’
    Peace | Shalom | Salam

    • billtonnis says:

      Thanks for your response. Yes…people may think you are “weird” but trying to please others will never give you inner joy. Perhaps letting go of one thing at a time would be a good start? As for why the song of the day is not working…I’m not sure. It just worked when I went to my blog and clicked on it. Let me know if it continues to not function! You can also simply go to “YouTube” and search my name, Bill Tonnis, and you will see all my songs. Peace

  2. Crinia says:

    Hello Bill, I’ve tried 5 of your songs through the blog links and still get ‘song not available message’. When I go to youtube and type in billtonnis the only videos I get are 4 videos loaded 4 years ago under Bill Tonnis Music. When you loaded the current videos onto youtube did you set any settings to block countries outside US or could you have the third party or copyright sections active? I’ve tried two different browser and my cell phone and still get the same unavailable message. Anyway, I’ve been given an small itunes voucher so I can download a few of your songs from there to listen.
    Peace and Love

    • billtonnis says:

      Wow…I don’t know. I asked a friend this morning who follows my blog to click on the songs and she said they all work fine for her. She suggested maybe you need to have a YouTube account? I really don’t have an answer on that one! I did not purposely set any settings to block anyone when I loaded the videos on YouTube…but I believe I did this through another entity that funnels my songs to various download sites like iTunes, rhapsody, Pandora, etc. As for searching YouTube, search by “Bill Tonnis” and not “billtonnis”. I know that when I search “Bill Tonnis” I get all the songs and several videos. Let me know how this works…and thanks for your interest!

      • Crinia says:

        If your friend is in USA she would be able to see everything. I tried a youtube search of Bill Tonnis only got those 4 videos from 4 years ago. It suggests to me that I can’t access your music on youtube in Australia.

      • billtonnis says:

        Yes…my friend is in the USA. Sorry to hear that about youtube. I sincerely appreciate your interest in my music and hope it is meaningful to you and your spiritual journey!

Leave a Reply

