Not My Will But Yours

John 5:30

“I cannot do anything on my own; I judge as I hear, and my judgment is just, because I do not seek my own will but the will of the one who sent me.”

A while back I had a bizarre dream. I was among a few people taking part in some type of class outside in which we were taking turns reading what God was saying to us in all the surrounding scenery. I remember I was simply reading the scenery as if words were somehow communicated in each thing. I don’t remember much about this but I do remember that I was reading a frayed rope…and I awoke with these words still clear in my mind: “But in the moment do not be thinking of yourself”…the rest trailed away. In centering prayer we simply sit in silence and surrender each moment…allowing our egos to fade away. It is the practice of “dying to yourself” and allowing God’s will to become more clear. Jesus was the master at this…but we all need plenty of practice. How about starting…in this moment?

Listen to the song of the day “Breathe On Me” by clicking HERE

All my songs available for download and purchase by clicking HERE

CD’s available for purchase by clicking HERE

Remember…God loves you!

About billtonnis

Child of God, Pastoral Minister, Chaplain, Music Minister, Jail Minister, singer-songwriter, former radio news anchor, imperfect follower of Jesus inspired by God's unconditional love, proud uncle... what else is there?
This entry was posted in Today's Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

