Building the Kingdom of God

Matthew 21:43
Therefore, I say to you, the kingdom of God will be taken away from you and given to a people that will produce its fruit.

Are you producing more kindness, compassion, goodwill and generosity with your life? The Pharisees were definitely not. Jesus was again criticizing them for strictly enforcing religious rules with no regard to love. The kingdom of God…or the reign of God…is a state of being that we begin to enter into when we are consciously present to the flow of God’s unconditional love. This is “being in the will” of God. When we are taking part in the flow of God’s Trinitarian love (an eternal flow of selfless giving and receiving) we are taking part in building the kingdom of God. But each of us has a choice of whether we want to build God’s kingdom or my kingdom. When my ego or false self is in charge…I am about building my kingdom…trying to satisfy my self-centered desires. When I am about building God’s kingdom…I am dying to my false self (ego) and am allowing Christ to live more fully in me. Then I am using my gifts and talents for God’s purposes in the service of others. When I do this it’s not so much me doing it as God doing it through me. And when this happens…paradoxically…I am being my true self. Then I will enjoy the fruits of my work…fruits that will truly satisfy my deepest yearning.

Listen to the song of the day “Shall We Sing” by clicking HERE
All Bill’s songs available for download and purchase by clicking HERE
CD’s available for purchase by clicking HERE
Remember…God loves you!

About billtonnis

Child of God, Pastoral Minister, Chaplain, Music Minister, Jail Minister, singer-songwriter, former radio news anchor, imperfect follower of Jesus inspired by God's unconditional love, proud uncle... what else is there?
This entry was posted in Today's Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Building the Kingdom of God

  1. Pingback: open your eyes – looking … naturally | mobilisedbygod

Leave a Reply

