Called By God

Jeremiah 1:5-7
Before I formed you in the womb I knew you. Before you were born I dedicated you, a prophet to the nations I appointed you. “Ah, Lord God!” I said, “I know not how to speak; I am too young.” But the Lord answered me, Say not, “I am too young.” To whomever I send you, you shall go; whatever I command you, you shall speak.

What is God asking you to do? Usually it’ll have something to do with your talents…but sometimes you may not be aware of a talent that God wants to develop in you. Is there an “inner yearning” to do something? Perhaps God is calling you? Our egos will make excuses because our egos think our lives are all about us. But our lives are actually about God and God’s love story…God’s dream for the world. You and I are a part of that! Jeremiah’s excuse was that he was “too young” to speak out as a prophet. What is your excuse? You are never “too young” or “too old” or “too short” or “too tall” or “too anything” for God to work with you! God doesn’t call the qualified. God qualifies the called!

Suggested song of the day– “Singing My Song” on the Live to Love album.
Hear free clips of Bill’s songs by clicking on Bill Tonnis’ Music on iTunes to the right.
CDs available by clicking “home” and then the “store” tab.
Remember…God loves you!

About billtonnis

Child of God, Pastoral Minister, Chaplain, Music Minister, Jail Minister, singer-songwriter, former radio news anchor, imperfect follower of Jesus inspired by God's unconditional love, proud uncle... what else is there?
This entry was posted in Today's Contemplation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

